Email icon

(08) 8941 4966

Northern Territory Education and Care Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is eligible to nominate?
The following Northern Territory educators and services are eligible to nominate for one or more award categories:

  • long day care
  • family day care
  • preschool
  • kindergarten
  • outside school hours care
  • budget-based funded early childhood services
  • rural and remote early childhood services
  • Families as First Teachers program
  • playgroups
  • programs catering for children aged from birth to five years.

Educators and services can nominate themselves for one or more award categories using the forms provided on the website.

Third parties, including parents, other educators and the public, can also nominate an educator, service or program for one or more award categories using the third party nomination form provided on the website

How do I nominate?
You must use the appropriate form provided on the website to nominate yourself, your service or another educator or service, for one or more award categories.

When do nominations close?

Nominations for the 2017 Northern Territory Education and Care Awards open on 22 May and close on 19 June 2017 for third party nominations and 3 July 2017 for self-nominations.

Why are there different closing dates for self-nominations and third party nominations?
Third party nominations close on 19 June 2017, two weeks before self-nominations. This is necessary to ensure:

  • the award coordinator can contact the nominated educator, service or program and invite them to complete the nomination process by addressing the relevant selection criteria
  • the nominated educator, service or program has sufficient time to consider their nomination and respond to the selection criteria.

Why have the award categories changed?
A review of the Northern Territory Education and Care Awards was conducted in December 2016. The review made 11 recommendations to:

  • ensure the award categories are inclusive of all service types, programs and educators in the sector
  • increase the quality of nominations
  • strengthen the awards  management and judging process
  • improve transparency of decisions.

A key recommendation of the review was to re-align the awards categories to better reflect the essential factors in driving quality in early childhood and school age education and care services and ensure they are equally applicable across different service types and programs.

The 2017 award categories are:

  • Outstanding Emerging Educator
  • Outstanding Educator
  • Outstanding Leadership
  • Oustanding Achievement in Innovative Practice
  • Outstanding Achievement in Community Engagement.

Why is the study tour no longer offered to award winners?
From 2017, award winners will receive a scholarship to contribute to their professional learning objectives. This will allow professional learning to be more individualised and will replace the study tour offered in previous years.

How does the judging process work?
Each year an independent judging panel is formed to consider and assess nominations. Nominations are assessed against the award selection criteria by the independent judging panel, comprised of three sector stakeholders with no perceived conflict of interest. An independent judging coordinator oversees the process.

Shortlisted nominees will be interviewed by the judging panel to further explore their merit.

When is the awards ceremony?

The award ceremony will be held at Parliament House in Darwin on 6 October 2017.