Email icon

(08) 8941 4966

Northern Territory Education and Care Awards

About the Awards

The Northern Territory Education and Care Awards were established in 2013 by the Northern Territory Department of Education and the Key Stakeholder Advisory Group (KSAG) for early childhood and school age education and care. KSAG members represent government and non-government stakeholders from across the sector, including service and training providers, peak bodies and unions.

The awards are coordinated by a different KSAG member organisation each year. The 2017 awards coordinator is Child Australia. ‚ÄčThe judging process is coordinated by an independent judging coordinator who has no vested interest in the awards.  

A review of the NT Education and Care Awards was conducted in December 2016. The review made

11 recommendations to:

  • ensure the award categories are inclusive of all service types, programs and educators in the sector
  • increase the quality of nominations
  • strengthen the awards  management and judging process
  • improve transparency of decisions.

All recommendations have been implemented. A key recommendation of the review was to re-align the awards categories to better reflect the essential factors in driving quality in early childhood and school age education and care services and ensure they are equally applicable across different service types and programs.

The 2017 award categories are:

  • Emerging Educator
  • Outstanding Educator
  • Outstanding Leadership
  • Outstanding Achievement in Innovative Practice
  • Outstanding Achievement in Community Engagement.